Advice for first show prep - novice entry

Icewolf

Howsit all, 

So looking for any advice (or opinions even), on what I would need to look at foundation-wise before trying out for a first comp (just novice level - just to try it out for the experience).

I wouldn't say I'm a beginner lifter but I'm certainly not advanced. Been lifting for a little over 3 years (first year and a half just dicking around, learning, trying to lose weight etc), after that started liking it more and more, and trying to progress now.

Am looking at entering a comp just for the experience after a friend at the local supp store mentioned giving it a go.

I know asking what kind of foundation should I have is a broad question (and I can't really concentrate on it fully this year with my wedding coming up a little over a year from now - can't pull the trigger fully until that is done obviously), but I workout 4-5 times a week as it is so I figured why not see what I can work on myself until I can fully commit to it.

Also I know I need to look at a coach/mentor before I look at any form or prep but that comes with a cost I can't afford until the wedding is done also -again just looking for advice for things I can try and cover myself for the next year and a bit.

I'm 42yo, 87kg, bf% was 14.5 a couple months ago when I was 86kg (have upped carbs since then - was doing bodybuilding.com challenges online).

Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers guys

Just now, maccaz said:

I'd keep training as you are until wedding is out of the way and you can afford a prep coach. 

Definitely go for it i reckon, I don't have the willpower diet wise to go anywhere near it but massive respect for people who do 

yeah I'm hearing that (the fiance also said it lol)

Cheers man, yeah I've only tried eating clean this far but from what I've read and heard prep diet is a whole different ballgame so much agreed.