Pre-fatigue or keep the weight up

Cameron_R

I started lifting at the same time I joined this forum, about 5 years ago. I've basically been following 1 main split that whole time:

Old Split

Day 1: Chest + Tris

Day 2: Legs

Day 3: Shoulders + Abs

Day 4: Back + Bis 

Over the 5 years I've also learned some basics about nutrition from all of you muppets, and generally I'm happy with the results. Slowly but surely I've put on muscle and dropped body fat. Gym life is not even my 3rd hobby, so taking my time, and getting some slow results works great for me.

I've decided that I want to add in some cardio due to non-lifting goals in my life, and I completely munted my ankle in May this year.  The ankle is almost good again now - but I need to start running on it to make sure I don't end up in another 5 year without it fully recuperated because I never made it flexible again!

The other thing I'm was thinking is that I should keep it to a 4 day split because that works for me in terms of the number of days a week I actually get to the gym. I'm not keen for one cycle through the split to take longer than a week, and if I have a 5 day split, chance are it will run over.

So what are your thoughts on this split?

New Split

Day 1: Run 

Day 2: Chest + Bis + Shoulders + Traps

Day 3: Legs

Day 4: Back + Tris + Abs

I actually tried Day 2 today. I usually start Shoulder day with dumbbell press of 20kgs (yes, after 5 years, I'm still a pip squeak), but after chest, I could barely lift 15s! So I spat the dummy and didn't do shoulders.

Would you say that the 'pre-fatigue' factor would be worth keeping new split, even when I have to drop the weight so much!?

If pre-fatigue is not the way to go, because I'd get more benefit from lifting as heavy as I can, then I could go to a 5 day split, including a day of running, and just suck up the fact that one cycle through the split will often take more than one calendar week?

A couple of thoughts...