Newbie - Female

Hey all, I've just joined to ask a few questions as I don't really know where to start looking. 

There is a lot of info out there for males but I haven't found a lot for females so if someone can point me in the right direction it would be awesome. 

I've been toying with the idea of doing a novice powerlifting comp but have NO idea at all if I would be anywhere near competitive or not. 

Are there any rough guides out there for females lifts? 

My bench is my weakest but I am going to start working on this more to build it up - am a little bit off body weight bench. 

My deadlift is my strongest and I can almost double body weight deadlift (have done it a couple of times before but it was a few months back and I was a few kg lighter, so prob a few kg off it at the moment)

And my squat is getting there slowly after an ankle injury last year, I am at a little over 1.5BW. 

Given I am part self taught, with some help from my partner (bodybuilder), I would also love some advice on the rules etc to ensure lifts count. 

Thanks for reading (that very long winded intro!). 

Amanda :)

just sign up and compete, thats what i did and had heaps of fun

if you want help with your lifts, maybe post a video here. For depth check on squats or from issues. They are heaps of really smart guys

if you want to make sure they adhere to the rules of the fed you are going to compete in, read the rule book 

Hey Amanda, welcome!

With those lifts (2x BW dead, 1.5x BW squat) you're definitely already on the way!

The New Zealand Powerlifting Federation (NZPF) is regionally based, but in each region (Northland, Auckland, Waikato/BOP, Central Districts, Canterbury and Southern). Each has some people who'd be happy to help.

Check out New Zealand Powerlifting on FB, or www.cdpowerlifting.org.nz, which has some really good resources. Powerhouse Gym also posts competition videos on YouTube - see powerhousegymnz .