City Fitness gym membership cost?

Ronny

Where are you based? Unless you're a student (3 month membership available) Your options are a 1 year minimum on contract, or a monthly membership (obviously more expensive) In any case if you go in towards the end of the month, especially the last 3-4 days, you can probably get it a little bit cheaper per week. Sales teams trying to make their monthly targets can drop prices, so you might get lucky. 

Great tip Phedder, cheers for that! I'm based in Christchurch, and yes I'm a part-time student, but I'm just wondering if a 3-month membership would still end up more expensive on a weekly-basis than year-long. I'll have to go in and find out.

• 2 weeks later...

First post since I signed up 5 years ago :)

I just got a  City Fitness membership from trademe for $14.90 per week. The seller paid the transfer fee, and it has 8 months left on it. Thats the best way to get a low cost membersip in my opinion (I sold gym memberships for a while a few years back).

They are pretty adament on not waiving the joining fee if you sign up with a new membership. I spoke to two membership consultants there and they both told me they couldnt do it. However I know an ex  City Fitness staff member who says yes they often do waive them - so negotiate as hard as you can. 

Edit: Also take note that City Fitness try hard to make you sign up on the spot (eg the first time you walk in). I was told that the joining fee was $99 normally, however it would be halved if I signed up right then and there. They said as soon as I step foot out the door it will go back up to $99. One way around this is going into 1  City Fitness to try to negotiate a membership, and if they don't budge, you can always go to another one and keep your 'first visit' discount there.