NZ's bodybuilding, strength and fitness community
Wantmoregainz

Test levels & advice

Hey guys,

Newbie here.

Been training & lifting heavy for around 5 years now. 34 years old - Auckland based.
Currently sitting at 103kg at 178cm and around 12-14% BF.

Still get slow progressing / gains but every time I cut, I just seem to struggle maintaining the definition / size I've put on.
Looking to build up the upper chest / trap / shoulder / arms areas - and I know this is where AAS can really make a big impact.

Anyway - a few questions to kick things off.

Went in for some routine regular checkups the other day & doc asked if I wanted bloods done.
Said yup - can I get all the regular ones - and also is it possible to do Testosterone.

He was instantly like - boom - why?? Are you taking steroids? haha.
I fumbled around, nah - just curious to see my levels, bit low sex drive, etc etc. He seemed to buy it but was also hella suspicious haha.

So first question - how do you guys approach this with your doctor? Do you straight up tell them you take / plan to take steroids?
Or is there a way to get these bloods / results done without needing a doctor referral??

Second - my reading came back as " Testosterone 12.3 nmol/l (8.7 - 29.0) " - which I'm assuming means I measured 12.3 and the normal range is between 8.7 > 29.
He's reassured me that it's all good .... but to me that seems on the very low end of the spectrum??

At this stage, if I end up taking the plunge and doing a cycle (never had any AAS experiments before) - based on the research I've done so far, I'd probably look at running test only, for 12 weeks or so, and just seeing what happens.

Look forward to hearing your thoughts :)

On 19/12/2017 at 2:42 PM, Wantmoregainz said:

Hey guys,

Newbie here.

Been training & lifting heavy for around 5 years now. 34 years old - Auckland based.
Currently sitting at 103kg at 178cm and around 12-14% BF.