Steroids Research

Hi there

My name is Lucy Moss-Mason and I am a postgraduate student at Victoria University of Wellington. I am currently doing research into how and why some men in New Zealand use steroids and other drugs for sports/fitness/body image reasons.

As part of my research, I am conducting interviews with men over the age of 18 who currently use, or have previously used steroids or other sports/fitness drugs. If you are in Wellington and would be interested in talking about your experiences, you can email me at lucy.moss-mason@vuw.ac.nz. Interviews are confidential and you will receive a $20 supermarket voucher in exchange for your time. I have also attached a poster with further information. 

If anyone has any questions, feel free to email me or post them below. 

Cheers. 

PIEDs study poster 3.pdf

4 hours ago, Daz69 said:

Why just Wellington, aren't you limiting yourself somewhat to a very small group...

I live and study in Wellington and I am doing face to face interviews so participants need to be able to be physically present in Wellington for an interview. It is unfortunate though, I completely understand what you are getting at.

1 hour ago, PETN said:

Criminology related research by any chance?

Hi PETN, yes I am studying in the Institute of Criminology at Victoria. I'm not at all pro-criminalisation of people who use though, if that was a concern. I'm more interested in how steroid users are portrayed and their motivations (how and why they use steroids).

On 23/05/2017 at 8:20 PM, lucymossmason said:

I live and study in Wellington and I am doing face to face interviews so participants need to be able to be physically present in Wellington for an interview. It is unfortunate though, I completely understand what you are getting at.

Then you will limit yourself to an even smaller group (if any).. you'd get a better response from online questions here..

2 hours ago, Realtalk said:

what made you choose this subject?