NZ's bodybuilding, strength and fitness community
Sign in to follow this  
Terrymundo

Scorpion WPI issue?

Picked up 2kg of scorpions WPI in vanilla flavor for about $90 delivered which was good value in my opinion. I did have an issue that I thought that I would ask about on here before going back to them as I'm not a routine WPi consumer and perhaps my issue is totally normal.

The issue:

When I put a single 30g scoop in 300ml of water and give it a decent mix, there are a handful of clumps that don't mix. I know that WPI is known for its mixability and have had a tub of Horleys Ice a few years back which was perfect. The clumps are sticky and have a texture of gum, identical to the clumps I used to get from waxy-maize and dextrose. They get stuck in my teeth and taste very sweet.

Whats going on here?

This is my first time using Scorpion and from what I've heard they have good quality products. I don't want to bag on the company but it doesn't seems right. Could this WPI be perfectly fine and pure, or these clumps added filler / carbs? 

Thoughts?

On 07/02/2017 at 2:48 PM, Terrymundo said:

I know that WPI is known for its mixability

Is it? Not sure about that. I think (@jimmybro1, correct me if I'm wrong) it just depends whether the product has been instantised or not.

Basically, there are different grades of WPI, and some will mix easier than others. Either way, it's not an indication of the quality of protein. Also, being hard to mix doesn't necessarily mean it's full of filler - probably quite the opposite, in fact.

If the lumps are very sweet it's not going to be a lump of pure isolate. And if it's not instantised then they shouldn't be selling it for making shakes from. Not saying it's a filler, but sounds like it's a lump containing a higher than normal proportion of sweetener/flavour.