Shaving??? When to start, and maintaining.. help

So for those that don't know, I'm a dude. First things first.

Anyways I want to compete either later this year or next year.
I have hairy legs and normal arm hair. Not very dark or unnattractive. Just, ya know, hair.....
My torso I dont have much hair (hardly any on back naturally) and just a patch on my chest and a happy trail. So i've been shaving my anterior torso for a couple years now every few weeks or so.

SO, when should I start shaving my legs? If I'm going to divulge myself into this sport and plan for the future I figure I should start soon but am hesitant. I read if you dont shave until prep than it may mentally mess with you because you'll look smaller once you shave?  What is the upkeep like? Do your legs become cactuses for in bed with girls lol? Do you guys (who shave) buzz or shave with a razor... ect

Then theres arms of course. But legs are my main concern, being so much more hair and body surface. I know once I pull the pin on this grenade it will have to be a regularly upkept grooming habit.

If anything I think being shaven makes you look a heap more muscular. Easier to wax bro. Go to like Studio 31 and get a full body wax. They do around your ding dong if you want to. Then you just have to go back every 3 weeks or so. I've never had it done but they have a shite load of guys now apparently. 

Shaving is something you should do a week or so before comp just to see how your skin reacts. Then again before you start applying your tan. Waxing is also an option but you might find you get ingrown hairs and or have a bad skin reaction to waxing so do that maybe 4 weeks before the comp then you can do it again a few days pre comp if there's no adverse reaction the first time.