What to expect your first Powerlifting comp

soundsgood

Here is a repost from Scott Wasson - GPC Australia Vice President on what to expect your first powerlifting comp.  it's a great guide and well worth a share.  I have altered it slightly to be more applicable to NZ comps.

-----------

I host a lot of powerlifting events, a lot of them are for complete beginners, and one is very clear, nearly all competitors don’t really know what to expect on comp day.

That’s ok though, I run these events for novices to learn about our sport.

In this post, I want to cover a few of the main things that constantly come up at weigh in, and on comp day.

1- Entering a competition.
The first thing you need to do is actually enter a competition.
Ideally, for programming purposes, you want to pick a competition at least 8 weeks away, though I prefer 16-20.
Because powerlifting has boomed in recent years, you need to make sure you get your entry in before all available spots are filled.

If you intend on competing, get your entry form and fee in as soon as they are released  to ensure you secure your position.

2- Weigh in
Every powerlifting event will require you to weigh in.

Before you can weigh in, we will require you to have your attempt card completed.

card

The attempt card has basic info that we require such as your name, age, whether you are competing raw or equipped (if you are not sure, you are definitely raw) and body weight (which will be recorded by an official at the actual weigh in so leave that part blank).
You will also need to fill in your FIRST attempts for the lifts. Make sure you ask your coach before you get to weigh in as you can not be weighed until they are completed.
If you don’t have a coach, pick a weight you could comfortably do for at least 2 reps.

You need to record your monolift height and whether you are racks in or racks out.
You need to record your bench press height and face saver height also.