Prep coach review

HarryB

Let's have an open and honest discussion about coaches from clients. Heaps of you peeps have had coaches both good and bad so let's get some reviews.

I find it interesting and perhaps someone else will too. Plus it might give people some choices when they're looking for someone to coach them. Let's not just do a kiss up and go on and on about how awesome our mates are.. let's just look at being honest and instead of commenting about people we haven't worked with.. let's stick to our personal experiences :)

I've never actually been coached but I have had mentors. It's generational because when I started out there was no such thing as a prep coach and you pretty much learnt as you went.

But I will start with a self assessment. I've prepped people for a long long time. I guess almost 20 years and in that time I've coached all levels and had success at both national and international comps (bodybuilding)

I'd say I'm a decent coach BUT I'm a little simplistic in my approach and I put the onus of working out certain things back on the client. My style requires a lot of interaction and work on the clients part. I don't just give a plan and then see you in 4 weeks. I also have a flexible system so there's nothing hard and fast although there are basics I adhere to as people who have worked with me will attest.

Some people see my approach as lazy lol I see it as empowering ;)

For a full comprehensive list of all coaches in the south island region i think Gymrat already covered that off his his log mate.

From my personal experience;

Wookie - great programming, excellent at pointing out form improvements.

Well his commentary isn't very comprehensive. And yes wookie is by all accounts a great strength coach.

People need to look at themselves before they put down their coach/trainer/whatever the f*ck you want to call it.