Body fat 20%

Xeon

Top marks for honesty, bro. And why not - got to be in to win! :D

20% is a bit higher than ideal, but it's hard to comment further without knowing where you've come from, and what your goals are. Tell us a bit more about your training, and then we can give more appropriate feedback.

Top marks for honesty, bro. And why not - got to be in to win! :D

20% is a bit higher than ideal, but it's hard to comment further without knowing where you've come from, and what your goals are. Tell us a bit more about your training, and then we can give more appropriate feedback.

I have been working out since 2001, on and off (sometimes stopped for a couple of months; sometimes did only cardio for a few months)...

About half a year ago I decided to do better, and increased workout frequency - only have 30-40 minutes on most days, but try to go every day, with body divided into 4 groups and rotating workout. Half the time I do heavy weights for strength, the other half I do light weights for endurance and muscle size. I do almost no cardio now (due to limited time). My work (software development) does not involve any real physical movement either.

My supplements include whey protein, casein protein, (occasionally) fat burner, pre-workout, and (occasionally) BCAA. I cannot really take creatine as I have gout.

I have never followed any diet plan, but won't mind follow one casually - cannot do it all the time as I like eating and I dine with family and friends every meal.

Any advice on how to lose the fat around the core given my circumstances? Also would like to lose that little bit of man boobs.

I like eating and I dine with family and friends every meal.

I think you've pinpointed the problem there. :P

Seriously - it's hard to counter a bad diet through your training, especially if you've got limited training time anyway. My day job is totally desk-bound too, but with a little attention to the diet, there's no reason you can't still have abs.