Future NZ strongest man.

Connor Pauling

My Name is Connor, I am 20 years old and currently traveling. I started weight training for confidence and aesthetics in August 2013. Like most people new to training I destroyed my posture and created a lot of muscle imbalances. I started to learn more and more about structural integrity and very soon my obsession with lifting heavy began. I am aspiring to become a strength and conditioning coach and a professional strength athlete myself. By October 2013 I was 73kg and very strong in terms of body weight exercises like dips and press ups, but for overall weight, well I couldn't press much, I had never done a deadlift before and I was squatting pathetic weight with horrible form on the smith machine. I learnt how to deadlift and squat correctly along with some other compound exercises when I started training with my new German friend In about January 2014. For the first time I attempted a deadlift with well... average form I suppose, the main thing is I had confidence. before this lift I had never gone above 80kg because I was worried about destroying my back. That day I lifted 140kg, I was about 85kgs by then. Slowly my strength increased over the next few weeks and on February the 22nd I went heavy before going on holiday and pulled 170kgs. It wasn't until April that I realized maybe I am built for strength. I attempted the 20 rep squat challenge with amazing results. According to the gym I was training at (they weighed, measured me and did the body fat% test) I gained 7.8kg of muscle in 4 weeks, only training twice a week... brutal training. My greatest set of proper squats with no assistance apart from a belt was 125kg for 20 reps. I tested my max's at the end of the month and my squat was 170kg (maybe could of done 180 but somehow I really hurt my leg warming up) my deadlift was now 190kg and I was amazed to bench 110kg because I've always been really bad on the bench, In Jan I could maybe just press 70. I was 103kg by