Diet on a Budget

bradharry

I have trained in the past on a healthy income and achieved great results, however I gave decided to go back to Uni therefore chicken breasts and shakes have become somewhat a luxury.

Can anyone please offer any tips, suggestions, or any alternative ideas on how to maintain a healthy low fat and sustainable high protein diet on a student budget.

Cheers

Harry

^ true to form

i'm a student too, work part time, rent and bills etc to pay, so i understand the issue with the budget. rice is cheap (esp if you buy from an asian supermarket like tai ping). buy chicken in bulk when its cheap ($10/kg in burbs, $13/kg in the city). i would typically spend $300 in a shop (save your money as best you can...), that lasts a while. just don't buy from asian supermarkets, that always turns out to be shit (in my experience)

wouldn't buy broccoli, that shit is expensive, but spinach ain't too bad if you buy from the right places. sweet potato cheap, bulk bags of nuts go on sale every so often and last a while. throw in a multivit (buy from the supermarket, don't buy that shit from supplement companies, way over priced) and you're good

buy the cheap unflavored protein power as captain energy drink above me suggests, mix with cold water and add nesquick or something if you're concerned about the taste, and if you want milk just go with homebrand/whatever paknsave does (milk is milk)

thats all i got

Dont forget mixed vegges which are cheap to buy depending which brand that you want to buy like Pam's frozen veggies which are cheap to buy plus they sure beat the cost of normal veggies which are more expensive to buy.Best of all frozen veggies can be added to rice or pasta when cooking either or plus they save time chopping up veggies as well.

":5ojzytdx]what is your weekly food budget rougly, OP?