muscle definition

ang

Hi every one im a 39yo female, checking out some chat and come accross the band assisted dips ( i like). I have been lifting weights for the last 18 months at the gym. now doing at home gym. i'm after size and definition. I do 30mins on x-trainer x5 morns then weights x 3 morns, do you have to get the burn to tear the muscle? i get this on my legs but not so much on biceps. am hardly sore the next day now the trainer not pushing me hard although i do push the limits but no one there as back up incase. now dieting down for definition. going low in carbs.

do you have to get the burn to tear the muscle?

Some people say you do and some say you don't... there are alot of articles out there on the web if you want to investigate.

As long as you are lifting as heavy as you possibly can and are doing a little bit more each week it will encourage muscle growth.

I'd say try and lift more often, or make your training more focused on heavy lifting and less on cardio. (as in the cardio is a bonus)

if you're doing too much cardio it can disrupt your protein metabolism and increase cortisol etc and therefore you wont build the muscle you want and might stall fat loss. Also the more muscle you have the more calorie requirement you have so the easier it is to lose bodyfat also your hormone profile will improve etceetc.

Also that a heavy lifting session will also be more fat burning than a steady state cardio session due to its effect on metabolism and the useage of the nutrients from your diet.